The University Government.

The general administration of the governmental affairs of the University of Nebraska is vested in a board of six regents, chosen by the voters of the state at large, at the general elections. The term of office is six years, and it is so arranged that two members are elected every two years. The members of this board are not paid a salary, but they are reimbursed their actual expenses in discharging their duties.

The state constitution makes the regents the governing board of the university. They are authorized to acquire and dispose of university property, and to elect and remove officers and instructors of the institution. It is the duty of the board to enact laws for the government of the university, and the statutes of the state prescribe that the regents shall purchase text books and furnish them to students at cost.

There are three general meetings of the board, an annual session just before commencement, and two regular meetings, one in April and the other in December. All meetings are held at the university and are usually open to the public. The officers of the board are a president and a secretary. The president is elected at the annual meeting, and holds office two years. The secretary is now acting-steward of the university. The board has four standing committees: (1) an executive, (2) a finance, (3) a university and library committee, and (4) a committee on course of study.

Next in authority to the board is the chancellor. He is the chief executive officer of the university, and acts as a sort of mediator between the faculty and the board of regents. His office is in University hall, and he is required to give his entire time to university business. It is the duty of the chancellor to see

that the regulations and orders of the board are complied with, and he is charged with the responsibility of maintaining good order in the institution. He has general supervision over the associated colleges in the university; he is president of the university senate, the general faculty, and the college faculties; he conducts the daily chapel exercises, and performs other duties entrusted to him by the regents.

The deans are third in authority; they are the presidents of the various colleges. The board of regents elects the deans at the annual meeting, and one is designated, senior-dean. It is customary to make the dean of the academic college senior dean, but this is not prescribed. He is vice president of the general faculty, and in case of a vacancy in the office of chancellor, he becomes acting chancellor. Below the deans are the professors, the associate professors, and the division instructors.

The internal government of the university is under the supervision of the general faculty. The by-laws of the board of regents provide for a university senate. composed of all the professors in the institution. The senate does not meet regularly, and the general faculty performs the duties outlined for this body. All the professors and associate professors in the academic and industrial colleges are members of the general faculty. The work of this faculty is done chiefly through committees of which there are twelve. An idea of their function may be obtained from their titles. They are: (1) a committee on emergencies, (2) an enrollment committee, (3) a committee on schedule, (4) a credit committee, (5) a library committee, (6) a committee on accredited schools, (7) one on graduate instruction, (8) another, on unclassified students, (9) one on preparatory work,