COLUMBIA COLLEGE.

CITY OF NEW YORK.

COLUMBIA COLLEGE IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK at the present time consists of the School of Arts, the original college, founded in 1754; of sundry professional schools, to wit: The School of Law, the School of Mines, and the College of Physicians and Surgeons, admission to all of which as candidates for professional degrees, is open to all students, whether or not they are college-bred men; and of the University Faculties of Law, Medicine, Mines (Applied Science), Political Science, Philosophy and Pure Science, which conduct all courses leading to the University degrees of Master of Arts and Doctor of Philosophy.

The point of contact between the college and the university is the senior year in the School of Arts, during which year students in the School of Arts pursue their studies, with the consent of the Faculty of Arts, under one or more of the University Faculties.

The various schools are under the charge of their own Faculties, and for the better conduct of the strictly university work, as well as of the whole institution, a University Council has been established.

I. THE SCHOOL OF ARTS.

The School of Arts, or the college proper, has a curriculum of four years' duration, leading to the degree of Bachelor of Arts. Candidates for admission to the School of Arts must be at least fifteen years of age and pass an examination on prescribed subjects, the particulars concerning which may be found in the annual Circular of Information.

II. THE UNIVERSITY FACULTIES.

The University Faculties of Law, Medicine, Mines (Applied Science), Political Science, Philosophy and Pure Science, taken together constitute the University. These University Faculties offer advanced courses of study and investigation, respectively, in (a) Private or Municipal Law, (b) Applied Science, (c) History, Economics and Public Law, (d) Philosophy, Philology, and Letters, and (e) Mathematics and Natural Science, Courses of Study under one or more of these University Faculties are open to the senior class in the School of Arts and to all students who have successfully pursued an equivalent course of under-graduate study to the close of the junior year. These lead, through the bachelors' degree, to the University degrees of Master of Arts and Doctor of Philosophy.

III. THE PROFESSIONAL SCHOOLS.

The professional schools are the Schools of Law, Mines, and Medicine, to which all students, as well as those not having pursued a course of under-graduate study as those who have, are admitted on terms prescribed by the faculty of each school as candidates for professional degrees.

1—The School af Law, established 1858, offers a three years' course of study in Common Law and Equity Jurisprudence, Medical Jurisprudence, Criminal and Constitutional Law, International Law, public and private, and Comparative Jurisprudence. The degree of Bachelor of Laws is conferred on the satisfactory completion of the course.

2—The School of Mines, established 1864, offers the following courses of study, each of four years duration, and each leading to an appropriate professional degree, viz: Mining, Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Metallurgy, Geology and Palaeontology, Analytical and Applied Chemistry, Architecture; and, as a graduate course of two years' duration and leading to an appropriate degree, Sanitary Engineering.

3—The College of Physicians and Surgeons offers a three years' course of study in the principles and practice of Medicine and Surgery, leading to the degree of Doctor of Medicine (M. D.)

SETH LOW, L. L. D., President.