The Hesperian / (Lincoln, Neb.) 1885-1899, April 15, 1892, Image 17

Below is the OCR text representation for this newspapers page. It is also available as plain text as well as XML.

Columbia College
COLUMWA COLLEGE IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK at the present time consists of the SCHOOL OF ARTS,
he original college, founded in 1754, of sundry professional schools, to wit: the SCHOOL OF LAW, the -SCHOOL OF
MINES, and the COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS, admission to all of which, as candidates for profess
ional degrees, is open to all students, whether or not they are college-bred men; and of the UNIVERSITY FACULTIES OF
LAO, MEDICINE, MINES (Mathematics and Natural Science), POLITICAL SCIENCE, and PHILOSOPHY, which con
duct all courses leading to the university degrees of MASTER OF ARTS, and DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY.
The point of contact between the college and the university is the senior year in the School of Arts, during which year
students in the School of Aits pursue their studies, with the consent of the Faculty of Arts, under one or more of the
University Faculties.
The various schools are under the charge of their own Faculties, and for the better conduct of the strictly university work,
as well as of the whole institution, a University Council has been established.
The School of Arts, or the college proper, has a curriculum
of four years' duration leading to the degree of Hachclor of
Arts. Candidates for admission to the School of Arts must be
at least fifteen years of age and pass an examination on pre
scribed subjects, the particulars concerning which may be
found in the Annual Circular of Information.
The University Faculties of Law, Medicine, Mines (Mathc
matical and Natural Sciences,) Political Science, and Philo
sophy, taken together constitute the University. These Uni
versity Faculties offer advanced courses of study and investiga
tion, respectively, in (a) Private or Municipal Law, (b) Mathe.
matics and Natural Science, (c) History, Economics, and Pub.
He Law, and (d) Philosophy, Philology, and Letters. Courses
of study under one or more of these University Faculties arc
open to members of the senior class in the School of Arts and
to all students who have successfully pursued an equivalent
course of undergraduate study to the close of the junior year.
These lead, through the bachelor's degree, to the university
degrees of Master of Arts, and Doctor of Philosophy.
The professional schools arc the schools of Law, Mines
and Medicine, to which all students, as well as those not hav
ing pursued a course of under-graduate study as thise who
have, are admitted on terms presciibed by the faculty of each
school as candidates for professional degrees.
1. The School of Law, established in 1858, offers a three
year's course of study in common law and equity jurisprudence,
medical jurisprudence, criminal anc" constitutional law, inter
national law, public and private, and comparative jurispru
dence. The degree of Bachelor of Laws is conferred on the
satisfactory completion of the course.
2. The School of Mines, established in 1864, offers the fol
lowing courses of study, each of four years' duration, and
each leading to an appropriate professional degree, namely,
mining engineering, civil engineering, metallurgy, geology,
and palaeontology, analytical and applied chemistry, architec
ture; and the following as graduate courses, each of two years',
duration and each leading to an appropriate degree namely,
sanitary engineering and electrical engineering.
3. The College of Physicians and Surgeons offers a three
years' course of study in the principles and practice of medi
cine and surgery, leading to the degree of Doctor of Medi
cine. (M. D.)
SETH LXDT, LL.D., TFx-&&idL&irLt,