# COLUMBIA COLLEGE IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK.

COLUMBIA COLLEGE IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK at the present time consists of the SCHOOL OF ARTS, he original college, founded in 1754, of sundry professional schools, to wit: the SCHOOL OF LAW, the SCHOOL OF MINES, and the COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS, admission to all of which, as candidates for professional degrees, is open to all students, whether or not they are college-bred men; and of the UNIVERSITY FACULTIES OF LAO, MEDICINE, MINES (Mathematics and Natural Science), POLITICAL SCIENCE, and PHILOSOPHY, which conduct all courses leading to the university degrees of MASTER OF ARTS, and DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY.

The point of contact between the college and the university is the senior year in the School of Arts, during which year students in the School of Arts pursue their studies, with the consent of the Faculty of Arts, under one or more of the University Faculties.

The various schools are under the charge of their own Faculties, and for the better conduct of the strictly university work, as well as of the whole institution, a University Council has been established.

### 1. THE SCHOOL OF ARTS.

The School of Arts, or the college proper, has a curriculum of four years' duration leading to the degree of Bachelor of and Medicine, to which all students, as well as those not hav-Arts. Candidates for admission to the School of Arts must be at least fifteen years of age and pass an examination on prescribed subjects, the particulars concerning which may be found in the Annual Circular of Information.

### **II. THE UNIVERSITY FACULTIES.**

The University Faculties of Law, Medicine, Mines (Mathe matical and Natural Sciences,) Political Science, and Philosophy, taken together constitute the University. These University Faculties offer advanced courses of study and investiga tion, respectively, in (a) Private or Municipal Law, (b) Mathe matics and Natural Science, (c) History, Economics, and Pub. lic Law, and (d) Philosophy, Philology, and Letters. Courses of study under one or more of these University Faculties are open to members of the senior class in the School of Arts and to all students who have successfully pursued an equivalent course of undergraduate study to the close of the junior year. These lead, through the bachelor's degree, to the university degrees of Master of Arts, and Doctor of Philosophy.

#### III. THE PROFESSIONAL SCHOOLS.

The professional schools are the schools of Law, Mines ing pursued a course of under-graduate study as those who have, are admitted on terms prescribed by the faculty of each school as candidates for professional degrees.

1. The School of Law, established in 1858, offers a three year's course of study in common law and equity jurisprudence, medical jurisprudence, criminal and constitutional law, international law, public and private, and comparative jurisprudence. The degree of Bachelor of Laws is conferred on the satisfactory completion of the course.

2. The School of Mines, established in 1864, offers the following courses of study, each of four years' duration, and each leading to an appropriate professional degree, namely, mining engineering, civil engineering, metallurgy, geology, and palaeontology, analytical and applied chemistry, architecture; and the following as graduate courses, each of two years' duration and each leading to an appropriate degree namely, sanitary engineering and electrical engineering.

3. The College of Physicians and Surgeons offers a three years' course of study in the principles and practice of medicine and surgery, leading to the degree of Doctor of Medicine. (M. D.)

## SETH LOW, LL.D., President,