









VOTING BOOTHS
IN

UNION



Daily Nehraskan

Vol. 47-No. 112

LINCOLN 8, NEBRASKA

Tuesday, April 1, 1947

VOTING BOOTHS
IN
UNION

Spring Election Slate

Following is a list of eandidates for the offices to be voted on at spring election today.

FOR STUDENT COUNCIL.
SENIORS AT LARGE
(All Students Vote)

Vote for two

Marian Campen
Joan Fankhauser
Patricia Heyman
Sally O'Shea (CP)

Vote for two

Henry Anderson
Stanley Johnson
Bill Palmer
Roger Stewart (CP)

ARTS & SCIENCES

Vote for two

Nadine Anderson (CP)
Dace Boylan
Kay Darlington
Mary Alice Dosek
Jeanne Kerrigan (CP)
Barbara Speer

Vote for three Bill Ballew

Bob Jordan (CP)
Dick Knudsen (CP)
Norm Leger (CP)
Stan Malasheck

F. Richard Parker, Jr.

BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

Vote for three

Dale Ball
Gerald Moore (CP)
Douglas Peters (CP)
Bill Rolfsmeyer (CP)
Jack Selzer
John Soennichsen

DENTISTRY
(All Dentistry Students Vote)

Vote for one

Gordon Ehlers Gene Wyler (CP)

ENGINEERING
(All Engineering Students Vote)

Vote for three Ray Bellows (CP)

Joe D. Cochran
Walter Dorothy
Jean Funk (CP)
Elroy Gloystein
James Jensen
Richard Schlewener
Henry Schleuter

FINE ARTS
(All Fine Arts Students Vote)

Vote for one

Betty Aasen (CP)

Vote for one

Owen Scott (CP)

(All Graduate Students Vote)

Vote for one

Marvin Curtis (CP) Jack Hayes

Vote for one

Charleen Miller (CP)

AG COLLEGE
(All Ag Students Vote)

Vote for one

Frank A. Loeffel

John D. Osler Vote for one

Marilyn Lyness

Marjorie Reynolds

TEACHERS COLLEGE

Vote for one

Alex Cochran Kenneth Fletcher (CP)

Vote for two

Marge Anthony (CP)
Patricia Boyd
Joan Farrar (CP)

Kathleen Nicholson

PHARMACY
(All Pharmacy Students Vote)

Vete for one William Koehn (CP)

LAW

(Law Students Vote)

Vote for one John Jacobsen (CP)

Ralph Nelson
Stanley Scott
Bob Wenke

FRESHMEN MEN

(All men vote for or

Neal Baxter Merle Stadler

SOPHOMORE MEN

Duke Albert Robert Hamilton

FRESHMEN WOMEN
(All women vote for one

Maurine Steyer Gwen Monson SOPHOMORE WOMEN

Joan Bridenbaugh Mavis Musgrave

JUNIOR MEN
(All students vote for one)

Charles Brim
Ivan Liljegren

JUNIOR WOMEN
(All students vote for one.)

Erma Grace Fuller Virgene Kovarick

COLL AGRI FUN BOARD

SOPHOMORE MEN (Vote for two.)

Phillip Keeney Gale Erliwine

SOPHOMORE WOMEN

(Vote for one.)

Ruth Swanson Winola Herboldsheimer

FARMER'S FAIR BOARD

JUNIOR MEN

Don Kellog Richard Wahlstrom Charles Brim

JUNIOR WOMEN

(Vote for three.)

Arlea Decker

La Rayne Steyer

Virgene Kovarik

Lucille Manning

Wilma Elson

PUBLICATIONS BOARD

SOPHOMORE MEMBERS
(AR Freshmen Vote)

Vote for one

Ruth Byers
Charles Bergoffen
Joan DeLamatre
Walt Loomis (CP)
Mary Helen Mallory
Jack Solomon

JUNIOR MEMBERS

Vote for one

Jackie Carruthers (CP)
Clay Kennedy
Bill Schenck

SENIOR MEMBERS (Juniors and Seniors Vote)

Vote for one

Henry Anderson

Don Baker

Betty Jean Holeomb

Richard Lahr

Lorraine Landeryon

Phee Mortlock (CP)

IVY DAY ORATOR

(All Students Vote) Vote for one

George Abbott
Bill Miller (CP)
Frederick Stiner
William Thornberg

This list may not be used as a sample ballot and cannot be taken into the polling area under any conditions.

Cast Your Ballot

Today's election with one of the largest slates in the history of Student Council is more than a matter of selecting from the 78 candidates those who are best qualified. We can repeat endlessly "Everybody vote. It is your duty to vote." But still only the few interested students will bother to come to the Union basement to-day and take a few moments to mark the ballot.

Perhaps it wouldn't matter so much whether your interest was aroused in this election if you were voting only on names of people, but today the first constructive work in strengthening the Student Council is up for the decision of the students.

We have advocated a complete revision of the constitution and we still mean it, but if the proposed changes are adopted by you at today's election, one great step forward will have been made.

The most important change suggested is that of Article VIII on the judiciary committee. This committee enforces the rulings of the Council and is the group which takes final action.

Until now, only six members made up the committee and all six of these were seniors. Since most of the Student Council members are representatives of the junior class, it is only sensible that they be on the judiciary body. If you want Council power to reflect the desires of the student body, vote "Yes" for this revision.

Other changes are concerned with the date of the spring election and with increasing possibility for campaigns in future elections. Lack of interest in the voting of past years can be directly traced to the absence of information about candidates and the restrictions placed on the possibility of ever getting that information. Students had to go on hearsay or depend on someone else telling them how to vote.

These revisions have been badly needed by the Council for a long time. They are first start toward a good Council.

The polls will be open today from 9 a. m. to 8 p. m. in the ping pong room of the Union. Each stadent will vote only for those candidates from his college. Those who are in the various schools of Arts and Science college must vote only for the candidates from their school. All students are eligible to vote for Publications Board, according to class, and for Ivy Day Orator. All you need is an ident card and the will

Will you vote222