

A TOUGH PAIR-Tackles Carl Samuelson and Mike DiBiase (34) will be tough nuts for the Kansas defense to crack. Both linemen scale well over the 200 pound mark and are two of Line Coach Gomer Jones' prize pupils.



George Miller

only three games thus far this by rushing, 446 to 378, but trail season, the Cornhuskers have in passing 93 to 260. The Huskers captured the lead in one division of team statistics according to figures released by the Big Six ness is verified by the fact that bureau in Kansas City.

Bernie Masterson's club has been assessed the grand total of 220 yards in penalties during 180 minutes of gridiron activity —tops for any of the conference teams. Thus the Huskers have been penalized a bit over one yard for every minute they have been in the field, quite an obstacle to overcome.

to give the Huskers a healthy handicap in every game thus far.

In other departments Nebraska did not fare as well, for the opponents, Minnesota, Kansas Staet and Iowa, have the edge in every other field in which statistics were tabulated.

Total rushing shows the opponents with 638 yards compared

Although Nebraska has played Huskers have amassed more yards the opponents have completed over half of the passes attempted, 26 of 51 for a percentage of .509.

> Nebraska punters trail in kick averages 32.8 to 38.5 in the last bracket of team achievement.

Kansas and Oklahoma backfield men monopolize the individual honors. Little Joe Golding paces all ball carriers with 230 Officials have paced off 135 yards gained in 42 trips with the officials have paced out to yards against Nebraska opponents leather, trailed by Bud French of Kansas who has 177 yards in

33 carries.
The Husker speed Merchant, Dick Hutton, ranks seventh in this department with 146 yards gained in 25 attempts.

Nebraska boosters might take heed of the fourth fifth and sixth men, for each is a Kansas backfield regular-Ray Evans, Frank o 559 for Nebraska. However, the Pattee and Dick Bertuzzi, re-

Red Hogan, KU quarterback who is now out of action because of a broken leg, still leads the passers with 11 completions in 24 attempts for 229 yards. Bus Entsminger of Missouri is second with four completitions in 17 efforts, good for 136 yards.

The mighty Ray Evans ranks fourth with 105 yards gained, but he has tossed only eight passes and four of them have hit the mark, said mark usually being End Otto Schnellbacher who has fielded eight tosses for a gain of 139 yards.

Dean Laun, Iowa State performer, has caught the most passes, 10, but the yards gained amount to only 172. The Cyclones, incidentally, are the passingest team in the conference, for they have attempted 90 aerials and have completed 34 for a percentage of .452.

Only two other Huskers figure in the individual statistics. Quarterback Fred Metheny is among the passers with seven completions in 14 attempts, and Halfback Roy Long is seventh in the list of punters with a kicking average of 33.8 for 19 kicks.

Dennis of Iowa State leads booters with six punts good for an average of 47.3.



## Story of Heisman Trophy, Football's Greatest Award

club of New York City, Inc., one of the world's largest clubs and would become permanent possession of the winner each year. occupying an entire thirty-six story building in lower Manhattan, decided to award a trophy to the outstanding college football but finally the committee agreed player in the United States.

In 1935 the Downtown Athletic which when properly enscribed

750 Electors.

Various methods of balloting to elect the winner were considered, that the sports writers and broadconsequently, Frank Eliscu, a casters would be the only impar-well-known New York sculptor tial and equalifier electors. These was commissioned to create a men are in a position to see the bronze figure of a football player players in action. More than 750



#### IM Table Tennis Tourney Begins On October 21

The fraternity table tennis tournament begins next Monday at 5 p.m. in the coliseum basement. The tourney will be based on team single elimination. Each house is to have 5 singles players ready for each match. The house winning the most single matches of out 5 will advance to the next round. Forfeits Declared

Forfeits for non-appearance will be declared promptly at 5:15. Paddles and balls may be obtained from the coliseum cage or palyers

may bring their own if they wish. This is a Jack Best II event and pairings will be posted and schedule announcements made today.

Alpha Tau Omega was last year's team champion, while George Fauske of Pioneer Co-op won individual honors. The individual tournament is scheduled for November 4 and further details will be printed later.

equally chosen from all parts of the United States now act as elec-

The bronze was cast and first

won by Jay Beawanger of the University of Chicago in 1935. In 1936, John W. Heisman, then director of athletics at the Downtown Athletic club of New York City passed away and the trophy was renamed the Heisman Memorial trophy.

This seemed particularly fitting and met with instant approval because John Heisman had coached football for thirty-seven years from 1892 through 1927 at eight different colleges. He was the inventor of the spin play and direct snap from center to back and Christian. was considered by many as the originator of the forward pass.

What a Team!

One of his teams, Georgia Tech of 1916, ran up what may be football's largest score when it beat Cumberland University 220-0. In 1944 1917 the same team player prob- State. ably what was the first doubleheader in football with Furman Point.

### Louis E. Means **Attends Grad** PE Conference

Louis E. Means, Director of Student Physical Welfare at the University of Nebraska and chairman of physical education, attended a conference on graduate work in physical education at Turkey Run State Park, Indiana, Monday and Tuesday, October 14-15.

25 Schools Recognized

Only about 25 universities recognized as giving outstanding graduate work in the nation were present, and the discussion centered around new trends in the graduate field, ciurricular problems, undergraduate prerekuisites, couse of study content, and more uniform intterpretation of courses and subject matter.

Among the universities repre-sented were Stanford, Columbia, Wisconsin, Illinois, Texas, Duke, Missouri, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio State, Oberlin, Indiana, Pennsylvania, Temple, North Carolina, Southern California, Purdue and Northwestern.

The conference is particularly pertinent at this time, since consideration is now being given to the possibilities of graduate work being offered at the University of Nebraska in conjunction with graduate work in the School of Education.

and Wake Forest all in one day Winners of the Heisman Memorial trophy to date are:

1935, Jay Berwanger, Chicago, 1936, Larry Kelley, Yale,

1937, Clinton Frank, Yale. Texas 1938, Davey O'Brien,

1939, Nile Kinnick, Iowa 1940, Tom Harmon, Michigan. 1941, Bruce Smith, Minnesota.

1942, Frank Sinkwich, Georgia. 1943, Angelo Bertelli,

1944, Leslie Ohio Horvath,

1945, Felix Blanchard, West

### The Experimental Theatre

presents

# LAURA

Brilliant Murder-Mystery

Vera Caspary and George Sklar

THURSDAY, Oct. 17, 7:30 P. M.

TEMPLE THEATRE

Admission 40c NO RESERVED SEATS

All patrons of Uni Theatre admitted FREE on presentation of season ticket receipt.



Special styles for men and women. • \$2 with 10 filters, handy pouch

M. FRANK & CO., INC., NEW YORK 22

and gift box.