Thursday, November 17, 1983

Five spikers named to team

Five Nebraska volleyball players were named to the 1983 all-Big Eight conference team this week, highlighted by the third straight selection of junior Cathy Noth and senior Erin Dean.

Noth and Dean joined sophomore Sharon Kramer on the first team, which included Dianne Doles of Iowa State, Sharon Olmstead of Missouri and Dianne Berg of Missouri.



Photo courtesy of UNL Sports Information

Karen Dahlgren

Setter Mary Buysse and middle-blocker Karen Dahlgren were voted to the second team, with Kansas State's Sharon Ridley and Cathy Sittenauer, Lori Erickson of Kansas and Dina Herzog of Missouri.

Noth was the leading vote getter among the conference coaches for the first time. The 5-9 junior from Bettendorf, Iowa, is second in the conference in hitting percentage (.386) and fourth in kills per game (3.1).

Dean, an outside hitter

Dally Nebraskan

Page 13



from Kansas City is also averaging 3.1 kills per game, while Kramer is fifth in hitting percentage (.292).

Dahlgren leads the conference in hitting percentage with a .392 mark. In addition to being named to the conference all-Academic team last week, Dahlgren was also named player of the week for her perfomances against Iowa State and Kansas last week. Dahlgren is a redshirt freshman from Bertrand.

Nebraska, 22-3, is a heavy favorite to win the Big Eight Tournament in Ames, Iowa, Saturday. The Huskers will play the winner of the Iowa State-Kansas State game at 11:30 a.m. Saturday at Beyer Hall on the Iowa State campus. The Huskers are ranked eighth and ninth in the two national volleyball polls this week.

